Saxon Live Banner

The Eagle Has Landed 40 (Live) - 747 Signature Edition

On August 2nd, Saxon, the British Heavy Metal vanguards who continue to deliver their seminal metal music to sold-out venues worldwide, will salute their 40th Anniversary by releasing The Eagle Has Landed 40 (Live) on Militia Guard/Silver Lining Music, a cracking, crunching and wholly representative celebration of four decades as one of the UK’s leading heavy metal lights. Entire musical genres have been born and died since Saxon released their self-titled debut in 1979, and through all the eras and all the trends, Saxon have continued to both entertain fans everywhere and prosper with albums and tours saturated in the band’s consistent trademark sound and quality. The Eagle Has Landed 40 (Live) celebrates all the classics from their early years with the modern classics which have continued to define Saxon as legends.

Forty songs covering four decades, from “State Of Grace” to “Machine Gun”, from the blistering “20,000 FT” to the thunderous “Battering Ram”, Saxon bring you on a victorious, boisterous journey through the human waves at Wacken, the stalwart supporters in Berlin, the mad dogs and Englishmen in London and other illustrious international cities via a selection of songs chosen by none other than Biff Byford himself. There are also tributes to their old friends and former colleagues Motörhead, with the supercharged “They Played Rock’n’Roll” and a cover of “Ace of Spades” featuring an appearance from the dearly departed ‘Fast’ Eddie Clarke. And to round off the MotörSaxon magic, there’s a roaring version of the classic “747 (Strangers in the Night)” featuring Phil Campbell from Helsinki in 2015.

The final result is not simply a triple album of great music, but a stirring and gloriously LOUD odyssey through golden years of metal history guaranteed to bring the headbanger out of even the mellowest rocker in the room.

The Eagle Has Landed 40 (Live) - 747 Signature Edition is the pièce de résistance of this landmark Saxon live release:

• Only 747 copies available

• Includes exclusive 747 print of Biff Byford's original hand-written lyric sheet of the "747 (Strangers In The Night)" song, with each print being hand-numbered and autographed by the man himself.

• Includes exclusive 23 plectrum set featuring album artwork from all 22 Saxon studio albums and a limited edition The Eagle Has Landed 40 (Live) plectrum.

• 5 x 12” 180 Gram vinyl
• The Eagle Has Landed 40 (Live) Tour Pass
• The Eagle Has Landed 40 (Live) Slipmat
• Exclusive 40 Page Book